Deciding to file a divorce is an emotional and stressful journey. A divorce includes complex legal matters that can last a long time. When you consult one of the top-rated divorce lawyers in Connecticut, you may ask how long your divorce may take and if you can speed it up. Although divorce time frames vary, an uncontested divorce often carries a shorter time to be finalized. A shortened divorce also means reduced costs, emotions, and stress.
Table of Contents
How an Uncontested Divorce Works
When you file a Connecticut divorce petition, you can expect the same format no matter you prefer it to be contested or uncontested. Once you file the petition, your spouse can challenge it or agree to it. If you both agree on the petition, you will have an uncontested divorce. In general, you and your spouse agree on the related issues including child custody and support, as well as alimony, and marital asset division.
There are two ways to get an uncontested divorce in the state that will let you bypass the 90-day waiting period that law requires. These methods are called Non-Adversarial Divorce and Divorce with an Agreement. Your divorce attorney can walk you through each option and help you decide the best option for your situation.
Grounds for Divorce in Connecticut
In Connecticut, you and your spouse can choose to have either a no-fault and fault-based divorce. Grounds for no-fault divorce include irretrievable breakdown of marriage and the continuous separation of a couple because of incompatibility for at least 18 months before the filing of the divorce petition. If you choose a no-fault divorce, there is no need to prove the other is at fault to get a divorce. And the court will not take into account the reason for your marriage breakdown. But, while an uncontested divorce may seem straightforward, things are often not easy in family court. That is why you need an experienced divorce lawyer on your side.
What You Need to File a Divorce
Your divorce lawyer can draft and prepare your divorce petition, so you can file it in the county court. If you choose an uncontested divorce, your spouse should sign a form that waives their right to be formally served or notified of any court dates. Also, your spouse will be informed that the court will take up the case without their presence. Although this type of divorce still includes several stages and fees, it is less burdensome.